Northern Australian Emergency Response Competition

Portal Reminder

Note: All information within the portal is confidential to MCA members only and must be viewed and used in accordance with the Terms of Use.

About the Minerals Council of Australia

The MCA is the leading advocate for Australia's world class minerals industry, promoting and enhancing sustainability, profitability and competitiveness. The MCA represents a world-leading minerals sector that is dynamic, diverse, sustainable and valued by all Australians. Read more.

Acknowledgement of Country

The MCA acknowledges and pays its respects to past, present and future Traditional Custodians and Elders and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and linked publications may contain images or names of people who have since died.

2020 marks the 10th anniversary of the Northern Australian Emergency Response Competition (NAERC). This year the competition will run from 27 - 31 May in Darwin. 

NAERC plays an integral part in emergency response training and gives teams the opportunity to test their skills in the field through simulated emergency situations in preperation for real-life emergency events. . 

These scenarios are designed to be the closest teams will get to the real thing, while putting teams under the pressure of being judged by seasoned professional adjudicators and watched by their peers, colleagues, family and the general public.

Throughout the course of the event teams receive a 'call to response' and will face challenges under the disciplines of; Fire Fighting, First-Aid, Rescue from Heights, Breathing Apparatus Skills, Underground Search and Rescue, Hazardous Materials (HAZMAT) and Road Accident Rescue. Teams also complete and theory test and individual skills testing.

The NAERC motto is

‘The minute saved through practice is the minute needed to save a life’, 

Click here for sponsorship information, for other enquiries contact MCA NT - NAERC Event Manager, Giovanna Webb:


NAERC 2019

NAERC 2019 was held in Darwin from 31 May – 2 June supported by our partners Kirkland Lake Gold, Charles Darwin University and ERGT. 

We are proud to announce the winners of the Northern Australian Emergency Response Competition in each category, as well as the Best Overall Team

Team Safety – Sponsored by Airnorth

1st Glencore McArthur River Mine

2nd Rio Tinto Gove Operations

3rd Glencore Mount Isa Mines

Most Helpful Team – Sponsored by Darwin Coordinators

Newmont Goldcorp Tanami



Underground Search & Rescue – Sponsored by Dräger

1st Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

2nd Glencore Mount Isa Mines

3rd South 32 Cannington


1st South 32 Cannington

2nd Glencore McArthur River Mine

3rd Glencore Mount Isa Mines

Fire Fighting

1st Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

2nd Incitec Pivot Phosphate Hill

3rd Rio Tinto Gove Operations

Rescue from Heights – Sponsored by ISH24   

1st Pajingo Gold Mine

2nd South 32 GEMCO

3rd Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

Hazardous Materials – Sponsored by Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

1st Pajingo Gold Mine

2nd South 32 GEMCO

3rd Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

BA Skills – Sponsored by Dräger

1st Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

2nd South 32 GEMCO

3rd Kirkland Lake Gold

First Aid – Sponsored by Glencore McArthur River Mine

1st Glencore Mount Isa Mines

2nd Incitec Pivot Phosphate Hill

3rd Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

Road Accident Rescue – Sponsored by PT Rescue

1st Glencore McArthur River Mine

2nd Incitec Pivot Phosphate Hill

3rd Ernest Henry Mining

Best Individual Skills – Sponsored by Offroad Trucks Australia

1st Dallas Kingdom - South 32 Cannington

2nd James Noonan - Glencore McArthur River Mine

3rd Scott Dittman - Incitec Pivot Phosphate Hill

Best Casualty – Sponsored by Safety & Emergency Training

Scott McConnell – Road Accident Rescue

Best Adjudicator – Sponsored by Northern Territory Government

Steve Hambrecht – Rescue from Heights

Best Medic – Sponsored by Glencore Mount Isa Mines

1st Leigh Wardrope - Glencore McArthur River Mine

2nd Toby Schmidt - Glencore Mount Isa Mines

3rd Josh Field - Rio Tinto Gove Operations

Best Captain – Sponsored by Queensland Government

1st Mitch Wilson - Glencore McArthur River Mine

2nd Blair McColm - Rio Tinto Gove Operations

3rd James Nieboer - Glencore Mount Isa Mines

Best Overall Team – Sponsored by Kirkland Lake Gold

1st Newmont Goldcorp Tanami

2nd South 32 GEMCO

3rd Incitec Pivot Phosphate Hill

For further information regarding NAERC please contact us:

08 8981 4486