• Media Release

MCA welcomes finalists to 2023 BHP Women in Mining and Resources Awards

On Tuesday 5 September the winners of the 2023 BHP Women in Mining and Resources Awards (WINRA) will be announced at an award ceremony in Canberra.

The Minerals Council of Australia (MCA), along with award sponsors BHP, Maptek, Dyno Nobel, Newcrest Australia, Rio Tinto, Newmont Australia, and The Bloomfield Group are excited to welcome all finalists to the ceremony to celebrate not only their achievements with colleagues, family, and friends, but also the ten-year anniversary of the iconic awards.

The MCA wishes good luck to the following finalists:

Dyno Nobel Exceptional Woman in Australian Resources

Name Company State
Dr Chantel Westley Rio Tinto Western Australia
Shannon Turner Newmont Tanami Northern Territory
Melanie Cooper Rio Tinto Queensland
Kayla Williams Bell Bay Aluminium Tasmania
Dr Bianca Newcombe OptiFroth Solutions New South Wales
Dr Suneeti Purohit CSIRO Victoria


Newcrest Exceptional Young Woman in Australian Resources

Name Company State
Hollie Sampson Whitehaven Coal New South Wales
Jessica Priest GHD Tasmania
Megan Parry Energy Resources of Australia Northern Territory
Daisy Ambach Glencore Zinc Australia Queensland
Zixuan Wang Bell Bay Aluminium Tasmania
Rachel Peng Agnico Eagle Fosterville Gold Mine Victoria
Kelsie Clarke Woodside Energy Group Western Australia


Rio Tinto Inclusion and Diversity Champion in Australian Resources 

Name Company State
Michael Erickson AngloGold Ashanti Australia Western Australia
Dahlia Docherty Newmont Tanami Northern Territory
Joanna Stevens Premier Strategy Victoria
John Rann Rio Tinto – Gove Operations Northern Territory
Lucy McLean Women in Mining NSW New South Wales
Larissa Walker Shell QGC Queensland


Maptek Woman in Resources Technological Innovation 

Name Company State
Eva Lebedeva Glencore McArthur River Mining Northern Territory
Samantha Langley BHP Western Australia
Joana Sousa BHP Queensland
Joanne Henry WesTrac New South Wales


Newmont Excellence in Diversity Programs and Performance

Name Company State
The Rio Tinto Indigenous Leadership Program Rio Tinto Queensland
Building Everyday Respect Rio Tinto Western Australia
Our roadmap to a more equitable, diverse and inclusive workplace Bell Bay Aluminium Tasmania
The Rio Tinto Aluminium Women in Leadership Program Rio Tinto Northern Territory


The Bloomfield Group Outstanding Australian Tradeswoman/Operator/Technician

Name Company State
Alia Melgin-Hill Agnico Eagle Fosterville Gold Mine Victoria
Jacqueline Kelly Shell QGC Queensland
Lindsay Gerrard INPEX Northern Territory
Julie Smith Evolution Mining New South Wales
Melinda Clarke Woodside Energy Western Australia
Teri Crawford Bluestone Mines Tasmania Joint Venture Tasmania